Summer Intern Blog Series #2 — Kaylie Hill

This past week, I have been learning the ins and outs of Qlikview. Qlikview is a tool used to build analytical applications, to help Altec gain new insights about their business, and to make fact based decisions based on real time data. Qlikview uses a nontraditional data model called a dimensional data model, which is based upon a snowflake or star schema with one or more fact tables in the middle. This type of data model took some getting used to since I am used to using entity relationship models. However, once I got the hang of it, it turned out to be not that bad! This week I worked on building out my data model in Qlikview for my EDI project that I talked about last week and it’s finally starting to take shape!

This week I got to meet with the director of the IT department here at Altec. We sat down and she explained exactly what she wanted to see in my application as an administrator of the application. I also met the EDI manager here at Altec and he explained what he wanted to see in the application as a manager of the application. Both were super nice and great people to work with!

If I had to pick one word to sum up my week, it would be knowledgeable. I learned a great deal about Qlikview this week and also about what I am actually going to be doing for the next two months. I hope the following weeks turn out to be as knowledgeable as this one was!

Leave a comment