Student Internship: US Rowing

Greetings from Princeton! I am currently in an internship with the USRowing National Team. I’ve been here at the USRowing Training Center Princeton for just over two months and it has been quite an exciting time. The types of projects that I’ve done have varied vastly. Ranging from creating web applications on the USRowing website that receives athlete information, which eliminates their dated paper process, to organizing travel logistics with LOCOG (London Organizing Committee of the Olympic Games) and FISA (Fédération Internationale des Sociétés d’Aviron).

USRowing is the governing body of the sport of rowing in America, my department is responsible for selecting the U.S. National Team which will represent the U.S. at the World Championships and Olympics. The USRowing culture is quite different that most companies because they only employ rowers, which is one of the requirements to be an intern. My department is based out of the boathouse (see attached picture) and, many times, I’ve gone rowing after work with my boss (former olympian). Not many other jobs let you do that. I’ve had the opportunity to surround myself with Olympians and hard-working employees that all have one goal in mind: Olympic Gold Medals. That’s why we come to work everyday and prepare the team for the upcoming races.

You’re probably wondering, how does MIS apply here at USRowing? So far, I’ve created 2 online web applications that have completely eliminated what were formerly paper-based registration processes and I’m in the process of developing the official USRowing iPhone Application. The online web applications we made are forms that collect athlete and organization information from over 50,000 athletes and 1,400 organizations. This consolidates them in one database that is used to track the growth of the sport in the U.S. The iPhone app development has been a learning experience but it’s coming together and I’ll hope to finish it before my departure in mid-August.

Developing is only part of my job here, I’m also responsible for tracking Olympic athlete compliance with the USOC (United States Olympic Committee), ordering gear, managing national team trials, and, aside actually from training them, getting the team 100% ready for London. I’ve arranged flights, lodging, boat transportation, athlete transportation, credentials, daily meals, and mapped out each day to the minute. It’s going to be hectic at all these events, but hopefully the preparation we’ve done will make them run as smooth as possible. I have just 3 more weeks with USRowing before I return to Tuscaloosa and I have to admit, this internship has been an unforgettable experience. Go USA!

-Erik Glynn

Leave a Reply

