GPC Team: “The key to success is often the ability to adapt”

Over the course of the semester, I have been working with the Genuine Parts Company Help Desk team. We were asked to develop a document detailing high level requirements to aid GPC in implementing a new web-based help desk system, known as Service-Now.com. Throughout the semester, I had been completely focused on diving into GPC’s help desk and understanding their current processes but all of this changed last week when I found out I would be moving to the other GPC PRPS team.

I have to admit, I was a little hesitant to move. I had been focused on my project and was really eager to see the value it would bring to GPC as we made our final presentation in a few weeks. On the flip side, you don’t often get the opportunity to be involved in two projects in one semester.

At first, the transition to my new team made me nervous. I found myself questioning whether or not I was capable of learning a project that they had been focused on for over 3 months in as little as a few weeks. Would I be able to contribute to a project that was already underway and would my new team be receptive to my ideas? I quickly realized that my worries were pointless as my new team instantly took me under their wing and immersed me in the project.

Over the last week and half, my new team has met approximately 6 times and in those meetings I have learned a lot about my new project. The GPC PRPS team is involved in the analysis of GPC’s project life cycle processes with the hope of developing a project portfolio management system that unifies the budget tracking process across GPC’s 13 subsidiaries. Learning this process has been easier than I expected due to actually seeing this lack of a system with my old project.

As I stated before, my old team was involved in developing requirements documentation to move to a new help desk system. This documentation should have been in place long before GPC made the decision to move to a specific system. Understanding process alone has made my transition to the GPC PRPS team much easier. I hope over the next few weeks my experiences with GPC in the past will add value to my new project. I am looking forward to seeing the change we may bring!

Written by: Tyler Hart, Capstone Student

The University of Alabama MIS program allows students to work on real projects that provide real value to real companies. Students learn to leverage people, processes and technology to solve problems and meet the challenges of today’s businesses head-on. For more information, call 205-348-5525 or visit http://cba.ua.edu/mis.

Leave a Reply

