Aflac Wrap up, now Lowe’s

MIS 295 today covered some basics again and D.Hale hinted on the first project and gave us an assignment of a report for our personal-career path. I have to say I am looking forward to setting up my plan because I operate best when I am goal oriented, and although it is technically an assignment, I will be using this report as a motivational tool. This brings me to talk about another motivational tool, AIMS meetings.

It is not very often a job seeker with minimal skills or experience gets a chance to have a consistent exposure to Human Resource representatives. Last week’s events were great and included a Welcome Back Party and an AIMS meeting that was fun as much as it was informative. An HR representative (Miranda Azaam) was available to show AIMS how valuable Project Managers and Business Analysts are to Aflac. Besides Aflac ducks being passed around, we got to listen about internship programs, positions pertaining to the MIS Career, and locations and facilities available with the company. This presentation was done in great style as it was a perfect start to the semester’s AIMS line-up.

Tomorrow’s AIMS meeting will be with Lowe’s, where we have VP’s coming in to talk to us about what we as MIS professionals can do there. Although I only found their Corporate Offices to be in North Carolina, I am hoping to find out more of what MIS Professionals can do with Lowe’s nationally. I heard internships were a possibility with Lowe’s and I am eager to learn how I can apply for a spot.

The University of Alabama MIS program allows students to work on real projects that provide real value to real companies. Students learn to leverage people, processes and technology to solve problems and meet the challenges of today’s businesses head-on. For more information, call 205-348-5525 or visit http://cba.ua.edu/mis.

Leave a Reply

