Busy week…

It is going to be a busy week this week and I wanted to make sure I captured my thoughts of last week and the week before’s visit.

It is amazing what you learn in an AIMS meeting. It’s amazing what you learn in a classroom. Ok, well maybe not as amazing as learning about certain “Cheese” products and what they are made of. What is really astonishing is how there are companies out there that their main business might sound creepy to the average person, but is really doing some great and interesting things for other businesses to really improve themselves.

Last week I was fortunate to return to AIMS after a missed opportunity to meet PricewaterhouseCoopers due to a broken rib and some needed rest time. I was expecting a presentation similar to that of Lowe’s, and I am very happy to report that last week’s AIMS meeting was by dunnhumby and a lot like Aflac’s of a couple of weeks ago. The presentation was outstanding. I learned more about what dunnhumby has done with companies all over the world. More importantly though, this meeting was interactive. Eric Lynch and Randee Carlson presented to AIMS what dunnhumby does, and what we could do with them in the future. I have to say my hat is off to Eric and Randee for presenting a great presentation. They not only captivated my attention with a breakdown of the company, but they answered questions I wanted answers to. Like why pick dunnhumby over some other company? Well, I can answer that simple. If it means I will be able to work for people like Eric Lynch, I will be in for a great learning experience.

I want to say it felt like I was in class, but the reality of it was that it was more entertaining to me to see the possibilities with dunnhumby because of their growing business environment. I am intrigued to learn more about what dunnhumby does that I’m compelled to apply for an internship with the company. I truly am impressed for a first impression.

This week, I am anticipating another great presentation from a company that is apparently fundamental to our program’s curriculum. Accenture is to be the company AIMS is hosting this week. We will meet on a Thursday instead of a Tuesday, and that is alright by me considering I would have Accenture to thank for being an imperative influence in how our program is run.

In other exciting news, students chosen to be MIS Ambassadors will meet today for an orientation meeting. At this point in the semester, I was more concerned with how the next episode of LOST would turn out, but I think I’m more anxious about the next step in being involved with the MIS program.

Written by: Alex Perez, MIS 295

The University of Alabama MIS program allows students to work on real projects that provide real value to real companies. Students learn to leverage people, processes and technology to solve problems and meet the challenges of today’s businesses head-on. For more information, call 205-348-5525 or visit http://cba.ua.edu/mis.

Leave a Reply

